This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Please click here to accept them.cookie information page
More On
Members' login

Institute Awards

The IOR promotes achievement and innovation through a number of annual awards. Nominations are encouraged from individuals at all stages of their career. The J&E Hall Gold Medal, Ted Perry Award and the Service Engineers Lifetime Achievement Award are once again calling for entries.

J&E Hall Gold Medal awarded for practical contribution to the development of RAC technology

Nominations for the 2015 will open in August. Click here for more information.

This internationally respected award recognises the most noteworthy practical contribution to the science of refrigeration. It can be given to an individual or team with recent outstanding achievements in one or more of the following areas:

  • Practical applications of innovative designs
  • Projects which have made an original contribution to the field
  • Systems which demonstrate substantial potential and evidence that they will be completed successfully
  • Outstanding and significant work in a new or unusual area

The 2014 award winner will be annouced at the IOR Annual Dinner on the 19th February.

The 2013 award was won by Prof Ruzhu Wang of Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China.

Prof Wang received the award for his work in research and application of heat pumps using low grade heat sources. The award was given in recognition that his work provided the widest range of practical innovations for heating and cooling for both buildings and other applications. It provides a method of using solar heating to drive adsorption - thus propelling the feasibility of solar powered cooling for the future. 

Prof Wang will be presenting a paper about his research as part of the 2014 -2015 evening papers programme.

A special mention of thanks to J&E Hall International who have supported this award consistently for 37 years. Robert received a Gold Medal to keep for one year, an engraved silver replica and a prize of £5,000.

 supported by




Student Research (Ted Perry Award)

Nominations for the 2015 will open in August. Click here for more information

The 2014 Award winner will be announced on the 19th February at the IOR Annual Dinner

To encourage and promote research by students related to refrigeration and air conditioning, an award of £500 is made sponsored by Hawco Ltd and a prize of a set of ASHRAE Databooks is donated to the winner in honour of the Past President Ted Perry by his family. 

The 2013 award was made to Goran Micic, a student from London South Bank University. Goran successfully researched and developed a working prototype for a freezer operating at -150 degrees as a replacement for nitrogen cooling technologies in medical laboratories.

Goran will be giving an IOR evening paper presentation based on his research at the University of Birmingham on the 15th January 2015. This is a free lecture and more details can be found at

 sponsored by

  supported by the Perry Family

Published Research presented to IOR Members (Kenneth Lightfoot Medal)

The Institute provides a prize of £500 and a Medal to for the best paper presented in our programme of free evening lectures which are published in the Annual IOR Proceedings. The award is supported by Lightfoot Defence in honor of the Past President of the Institute, Kenneth Lightfoot. For information and a list of past winners click here. 

Dr Andy Pearson received his award at the IOR Annual Dinner 2014 for the paper “HFO R1234ze for variable speed centrifugal chillers”presented in the 2012-13 IOR evening paper series.  

The paper explained the background to HFC phase-down, described the steps taken to evaluate alternatives to R-134a for use in small centrifgual compressors and the design modifications required to ensure efficiency and reliability. It gave the results of performance testing in a factory environment and on site and discussed commercial, technical and legislative barriers to further progress.

supported by



Service Engineer Lifetime Achievement recognition

The IOR Service Engineers' Section makes a lifetime achievement award to recognise an individual's commitment  to a career in service, maintenance or installation engineering. This award is sponsored by The Trainee of the Year Award. To download a nomination form and for information about the Service Engineers' Section follow this link.

The 2013 winning Service Engineer was John Webb of J&E Hall.

John is an excellent example of how interesting and rewarding a career as a refrigeration technician can be. He joined J & E Hall as an Apprentice straight from school at 17. Encouraged to develop his talents he studied for a refrigeration diploma and joined the Institute of Refrigeration early in his career.He became a commissioning engineer working in marine applications. Overseas commissioning took him throughout the world including China, Nigeria and Japan. He has worked on fantastic projects including witnessing sea trials, the building of the Queen Mary 2, and commissioning chilled water units for the Queen Elizabeth air craft carriers. He is looking forward to his next high profile job commissioning the cascade cooling unit for the Atlas Detector for Higgs Bosons at CERN in Switzerland.


sponsored by